Iggy Azalea and Why I Dislike Most Rap

Note: I am not here to argue whether rap has artistic credit, or whether Iggy Azalea has a good flow, or anything of that nonsense. I am here to talk about the repetitive lyrics used by basically every rapper.

You’ve heard ‘Fancy’ by Iggy Azalea, right?

No? It’s been all over Top 40 radio.

I mean, she’s the baddest bitch right now, don’t you know? /sarcasm

iggy-azalea-600x450

I said, “Baby, I do this, I thought that you knew this.”
Can’t stand no haters and honest, the truth is
And my flow retarded, each beat did depart it
Swagger on super, I can’t shop at no department

These are lyrics from ‘Fancy’, specifically the second verse.

The entire song basically talks about how ‘hard’ Iggy Azalea is and how nobody can touch her because her flow goes ‘hard’. She’s the ‘realest’ bitch and she worked tirelessly to get where she is today, and she deserves to be famous.

No doubt, I like her flow. I like the beat of the song. I like the fact that she’s a white girl cornering a predominantly black market.

But we’re not here to talk about her product.

I want to address the unnecessary need to talk about how ‘hard’ a person is, how ‘turn’t up’ they are at a party, how rich they are, and how they don’t need anyone’s permission to be a bad ass in their lyrics.

"But how do I otherwise get street cred?"

“But how do I otherwise get street cred?”

I’m sorry, I thought you didn’t give a shit what people thought about you. You’re here to do what you do, right?

Then, it’s unnecessary to talk about how you are amazing. Let’s talk about some real shit, such as: whose head did you scalp to get that blond-ass hair?

Okay, I don’t want to take this out on Iggy. She’s been taught by the thousands before her on how to breakthrough and become a rap superstar. Instead, let’s blame them.

Shit just got real.

Shit just got real.

Can there be more Lorde’s or Mackelmore’s please? They’d rather turn rap on their heads and talk about some real shit: such as not giving a fuck about wearing the top brands or having the biggest houses or coming from the hood’est places.

Eminem started off as shocking by being pretty descriptive about how he was going to kill his at-the-time wife. He really broke through into the mainstream, and has continued a very successful career, by leaving that childish behavior behind. People don’t want to hear how crazy you are at a party. They want to hear some real shit.

He’s talked about his issues with his mother, his yearning to be a good dad to his daughter, the effect of his success on other people, stalkers, and much more.

Can we get more of that instead of ‘I am the realest bitch on this planet’?

Yes, Loser does start with 'L'.

Yes, Loser does start with ‘L’.

People need to understand it does not take being the ‘baddest’ bitch, the richest gangster, or the most fucked-up superstar to become a success. These aren’t healthy habits. This is shit late-teens and early 20-year-olds do.

And while it works for some, such as Iggy, does not mean it’s going to work for you.

/soapbox

2 thoughts on “Iggy Azalea and Why I Dislike Most Rap

Leave a Reply

